LG TV model numbers explained


  • google+


We help you make sense of LG's somewhat bewildering TV-naming game

As with most other TV manufacturers, wading through LG’s range of TVs can be confusing to say the least. With longwinded names comprised of what seems to be random digits and characters, you can easily be left feeling perplexed. There is some method to the madness, however, and it’s not as random as it seems. 

Luckily, we’ve had plenty of LG TVs pass through the Expert Reviews office, and we are here to help you figure this out, so that next time you’re browsing the newest deals online, or staring at a wall of screens in an electronics store, it will all make perfect sense.

Model numbers explained: 2016 OLED TVs

First off, we should mention that – just to confuse matters – LG TVs made this year follow a different naming pattern than previous years, as the firm decided to assign a new labelling system in 2016 for OLED TVs. We’ll use our most recent LG TV review, the LG OLED55C6V, as an example, as this model has an OLED screen and was made in 2016.

For OLED TVs made in 2016, LG wants to clearly indicate what type of screen it is with the full word OLED at the beginning of the model number. For non-OLED LG TVs, the model number begins with the screen size.

Next in line is a number, here being 55, which simply denotes the size of the screen in inches. This will obviously change depending on the screen size of the TV in question. 

Then following this is a letter that indicates the design of the model, in this case C. This could be B or E and has no specific meaning; it’s just to help distinguish between the different model designs.

The number next to this stands for the development year of the model, using the last number of the year. This model is 6, referring to 2016. 

See related Panasonic TV model numbers – every Viera explainedSamsung TV model numbers: Every TV series explainedPhilips TV model numbers: Every TV series explained

The last letter, in this case V, is the digital tuner type. V refers to a DVB-T2/DVB-C/DVB-S2 tuner type. This could also be P, which refers to a ATSC/ISDB tuner, or D, which is a DVB-T/DVB-T2/DVB-HD/DVB-C/DVB-S/DVB-S2 tuner type, or – finally – J, which is a DVB-T2/DVB-C/DVB-S2 tuner. Just to avoid confusion, DVB stands for Digital Video Broadcast, with the following letters: T standing for Terrestrial, S for Satellite, and C for Cable. The T2 and S2 versions are the latest types of tuner, made for HD channels, but most HD channels are still tuned to the S system. Note, when buying a TV, it is sensible to buy one which supports the T2 or S2 systems as they could be moved at any time, making the older versions obsolete.

LG 65EF960V lead image

Non-OLED 2016 models/2015 models

With 2016 LG OLED TV names covered, let’s run through non-OLED TVs made in 2016 and all TVs made before 2016, which use the same pattern. These TV types begin with the screen size number following by the type of TV screen. For example: EG stands for 4K OLED TV with a curved screen display and 4 colour matrix, EF refers to a 4K OLED TV or OLED flat-screen TV (for models before 2016 only), UF means flat-screen TV with a resolution of UHD, and finally, LF denotes a TV with a Full HD resolution.Next in line is a letter representing the year of manufacture. F and G refers to 2015, B or C to 2014, N or A to 2013, W, M or S to 2012 and V for 2011. 

Let’s use a 2015 model as an example: the LG 43LF540V smart TV. 43 is the size in inches of the screen, LF means it has a Full HD screen resolution, and 5 tells us it was made in 2015. So next up is the series number. 

The number 4 stands for 4 series, like the one referenced in the example model above, which refers to TVs with smaller screen sizes. Any TVs with a 3 are from the 3 series, which are the cheaper, lower-end models. The 5 series are TVs with screens up to 50 inches without 3D; the 6 series is 3D televisions and screens up to 60 inches; the 7 series are TVs similar to the 6 series but with improved characteristics; the 8 Series are TVs similar to the 7 series, but fully equipped accessories such as the camera for Skype; and finally 9 series are TVs similar to 8 series but with huge screens 80-100 inches wide. There’s then an extra number that refers to the model in the series. This can be anything from 0-9.

The last letter is the tuner type, which follows a similar naming method as explained above in the 2016 OLED TV serial numbers. This time, it’s T, C, S, V, U, B or 0, as shown in the diagram above, courtesy of TabTV. As explained above, V is the one you want for the UK, as covers all bases for compatibility.

Image of LG 43LF540V 43 inch 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview (2015 Model) - Silver

LG 43LF540V 43 inch 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview (2015 Model) – Silver

£399.99 Buy now

^ The 43LF540V LG TV can be bought on Amazon now for £440.

Older models

In some older models, the next letter following the screen size denotes the quality of the screen. So if you see any of the three letters A, M, and N, these are used to denote a Full HD resolution of 1,920 x 1,080 and higher. More specifically, A stands for a high-quality picture, such as a 4K Ultra High Definition (UHD) TV with a resolution of 3,840 x 2,160. LG also names its OLED TVs from 2015 and earlier with this designation, even though they are not 4K TVs and have a regular HD resolution of 1,920 x 1,080. M stands for 3D HDTV, and the N simply means the TV has a Full HD resolution of 1,920 x 1,080.

But these aren’t the only letters that can be used. When looking at model serials, you could see an L, U, E, or P following the screen size, which refers to the screen matrix type. L means LED, U is UHD LED, E is OLED, and P is plasma. 

Source: www.expertreviews.co.uk